Maybelline New York Unstoppable Mechanical Eyeliner Pencil, Onyx

Along with the Maybelline New York Great Lash Mascara in Royal Blue, I was also sent their Unstoppable Mechanical Eyeliner Pencil in Onyx to review.

Maybelline New York Unstoppable Mechanical Eyeliner Pencil, Onyx

Now, I must preface that I am double trouble for makeup brands when it comes to testing eyeliners. In addition to my oily skin, I have hooded eyes, so most eyeliners end up smudging and transfering under my eyes by mid-day, and I end up resembling a panda. 🐼

However, I will put my preconceived notions (and fear of being captured by zookeepers) aside to review the Maybelline New York Unstoppable Mechanical Eyeliner Pencil. I will review this eyeliner based on its claims in the product description and, for testing purposes, I will not apply any makeup other than the Maybelline New York eyeliner (no primer, no foundation, no mascara, etc).

PRODUCT DESCRIPTION
This Unstoppable eyeliner is an automatic mechanical eyeliner pencil that glides on smoothly, easily lines and defines eyes with its self-sharpening tip and all day wear smooth formula. It is a smudge-resistant, waterproof eyeliner that also claims to deliver the ultimate control in creating ultra-thin to ultra-thick definition.

Maybelline New York Unstoppable Mechanical Eyeliner Pencil, Onyx

EXPERIENCE

  • Automatic Pencil
    I always get nervous with twist-up products because some do not twist back down when too much product is accidentally pushed up. However, this Maybelline mechanical eyeliner twists both up and down. 
  • Formula
    The Unstoppable eyeliner does apply smoothly and easily lines my eyes. I will even admit it applies more smoothly and easily than my holy grail liquid eyeliner.
  • Smudge-resistant/Waterproof
    This Maybelline eyeliner may be smudge-resistant, waterproof, and last all day for those with dry skin.  However, it only took a few hours for the eyeliner to begin smudging and transferring on my oily skin. It gave me the appearance of under-eye bags, and the transferred product also would not wipe off my skin easily. In terms of being waterproof, it did fade and start to flake when it came in contact with water.
Maybelline New York Unstoppable Mechanical Eyeliner Pencil, Onyx
The Maybelline eyeliner began smudging & transferring to my undereye area after only a few hours.
  • Control
    I am on the fence with this one. I felt the strokes from this Maybelline eyeliner came out uneven at times, and it wasn’t easy to even it out or thicken up the line without messing up. However, I don’t have a lot of experience with mechanical pencils as I prefer liquid eyeliner.

PRICE
The Maybelline New York Unstoppable Mechanical Eyeliner Pencil retails around $7 on maybelline.com. It comes in Onyx, Cinnabar, Pewter, Sapphire, and Espresso. Other competitor brand mechanical eyeliner pencils range from $2 – $79.

Maybelline New York Unstoppable Mechanical Eyeliner Pencil, Onyx

OVERALL
The Maybelline New York Unstoppable Mechanical Eyeliner Pencil is a great automatic pencil as the product can twist both up and down. It did apply smoothly and easily; however, I did not find it smudge-resistant or waterproof on my oily skin.

I would suggest those with dry skin to give this Maybelline eyeliner a try, but recommend those with oily skin to try another product.

⭐️⭐️⭐️✨

While I received the Maybelline New York Unstoppable Mechanical Eyeliner Pencil in Onyx, complimentary from Influenster (thanks Maybelline and Influenster!), all opinions are my own.

If you found this review helpful, please ‘Like’. ⭐️
And if you don’t want to miss a review, be sure to Follow+. 🙂

Leave a Reply

