Food Tour: San Juan, Puerto Rico

The travel bug has bitten again, and today’s dreary weather isn’t helping either. To top it off, this time last year I was here:

Poolside - San Juan, Puerto Rico

Beautiful, sunny San Juan, Puerto Rico.

I miss sipping on coconuts by the poolside, I miss my palm trees, I miss feeling the sand between my toes on the beach… heck, I even miss how the sand just got EVERYWHERE! And obviously, this foodie misses the food. Even living in NYC, it’s difficult to find authentic mofongo, so if you discovered a place, please let me know in the comments!!

As a native New Yorker, I am used to stupid, expensive prices for small portions of food and I expect the same in any tourist area. So I was pleasantly surprised to find that the tourist areas in Puerto Rico, or at least all of the places I picked, had affordable prices for good portions of food, sometimes even a bit too much.

There were times waiters would politely let us know that we ordered too much food for just two petite girls. It was fun to watch their reactions when we finished or ate more than expected, and it was even hilarious when a large man eating the same dish next to me tried to keep up, but tapped out in defeat.

But I digress on this Foodie Friday! Here are some of the locations/dishes we enjoyed… well the ones I actually remembered to take pictures of before devouring them.

Platos
2 Calle Rosa

Platos - Shrimp Mofongo & Steak Mofongo
Shrimp Mofongo & Steak Mofongo

El Alambique
5806 Calle Jose M Tartak

El Alambique - Roasted Corn & Jalapeño Nachos
Roasted Corn & Jalapeño Nachos
El Alambique - Fish Tacos
Fish Tacos
El Alambique - Basil Pesto Alfredo
Basil Pesto Alfredo

Metropol
Ave Isla Verde, Anexo Club Gallistico

Metropol - Fiesta Cubana
Fiesta Cubana – Congrí, tamal, masitas de cerdo, yuca, boliche y tasajado

Cafe Don Ruiz
Cuartel de Ballaja, Calle Norzagaray Esq Beneficiencia

Mallorcas
Mallorcas

Bistro Cafe, Isla Verde
29 Calle Júpiter

And those are it! And now I want to go back more than ever! I wish I could be a travel blogger!

Well, until next week – ¡Buen Provecho!🍴😉

This post is not sponsored. All expenses were purchased ourselves, and all opinions are our own.

If you found this post helpful, please ‘Like’. ⭐️
And if you don’t want to miss a post, be sure to Follow! 🙂+

Leave a Reply

